Labour take Crewe and Nantwich

Labour has won the constituency of Crewe and Nantwich from the Conservatives, after a recount.

Laura Smith won a total of 25,928 votes, beating the Conservative incumbent Edward Timpson by a narrow margin of 48 votes.

Timpson was first elected in 2008, following the death of Labour MP Gwyneth Dunwoody who had held the seat for 25 years.

He was the first Conservative MP to ever win the seat, which was formed in 1983, bringing together the traditionally Labour Crewe with Nantwich, which had voted Conservatives since its creation.

The campaign in the area was dominated by the issue of funding for schools and Smith, a mother and teacher, appealed to many voters on this issue.


Leave a Reply